Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Holy Spirit Will Give Us Words to Speak

Mark 13:11

Whenever you are arrested and brought to trial, do not worry beforehand about what to say. Just say whatever is given you at the time, for it is not you speaking, but the Holy Spirit.

In our nation – not many will be arrested for their faith.  Occasionally people may ridicule us for our faith – as I heard some doing this morning – ridiculing Tim Tebow for being the starting quarterback for the Florida Gators years ago and now a professional player – and yet stating that he is a virgin.  They couldn’t understand how a person could remain a virgin while being a star athlete – and at Florida of all schools!  Brings back memories of how A.C. Green was similarly ridiculed by teammates and the press for his stance in the same area of his faith.  He had people bringing women to his room at nights to get him to yield and yet he remained strong.  Strong Christians will take some ridicule from those who are not.  Jesus told us this before He left this world.

John 15:18 – If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first.

In Biblical days – the believers were being persecuted by Rome and by the Jewish church.  Often many of them would be brought before the courts of Rome or the Sanhedrin of the church.  God’s promise for them was that the Holy Spirit would be with them and would give them words to speak.

Since in our nation most of us are not arrested for our faith and put on trial – what does a passage like this mean to us?  I’ve often seen this passage touch my life in this way.  Whenever my faith is challenged – wherever I am questioned about what I believe – when those around me laugh at me or put me down for what I try to live – I am reminded of this passage.  The Holy Spirit will be with me and will give me words to speak.

Have we been challenged lately for what we believe?  If not – it might just be that we are not living our faith outwardly – because if we were – we would face persecution!  But take heart – when taken to task for Jesus – the Holy Spirit will be with you – even to the very end!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

P.S. – I will post another devotional thought tomorrow – Friday – August 25th – but will be on vacation starting Friday through September 3rd and will be trying to unplug as much as I can.  I will post another devotional thought on Tuesday – September 6th.

Tweet this Blog Post

August 25, 2011 - Posted by | Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,649 other followers

