Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God’s Grace is Sufficient to Cover All Our Sins!

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

It seems that during our current sermon series on guardrails – we not only have been challenging people to set guardrails in their lives – but by reminding people of their regrets – we have found a group of people who are having a hard time dealing with their regrets.  I felt the need today to remind us that we are all sinners – every last one of us.

Romans 3:23 – for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,

Not only have we all sinned – but the good we do – the righteous acts – are like filthy rags.

Isaiah 64:6 – All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags;

I do not bring these two Scriptures up to further depress us about our sin – our regrets – but rather to say that none of us is worthy – in and of ourselves.  The best among us – their righteous acts are still like filthy rags compared to our God.  I say this to help us realize that two truths can be trusted.  First – we cannot earn or merit our relationship with God.  We can NEVER do enough good to offset our sin.  Second – we are all in need of God’s grace – EVERY one of us!

Too often – as I deal with hurting people – we find them falling into one of two categories. First – I am so bad God could never forgive me (as if our sin is somehow greater than anyone else’s sin).  Second – my spouse/friend is so bad I cannot forgive them (as if our sin is somehow less offensive to God and somehow we live on a higher plane).

God tells us – my grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.

Saint Paul saw himself – as Saul – as the worst of sinners – because he was putting to death the followers of Christ – yet He knew God’s grace could forgive him.

1 Timothy 1:15-16 – 15 Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners — of whom I am the worst. 16 But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life.

If we turn our hearts over to God – confess our sins and receive Jesus as our Lord and Savior – His grace is sufficient for you. God’s grace is so amazing.  We need to lay our regrets at the cross and allow God to wash us clean.  We need to forgive others as we would want to be forgiven.

Matthew 6:14-15 – 14 For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

Tweet this Blog Post

February 15, 2011 - Posted by | Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. What an awesome word Pastor Ray. Thank you for being so open to God’s grace.

    Like

    Comment by Mary | February 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

