Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Pre-Prayer/Fast Information

Daniel 9:3

So I turned to the Lord God and pleaded with him in prayer and petition, in fasting, and in sackcloth and ashes.

This will be my theme verse during our 21-day prayer/fast.  I want to spend time turning my heart toward the Lord and seeking His face while desiring His grace.

I began fasting from Words with Friends (a game on Facebook) on January 1 and plan to fast the entire month of January which will include our 21-day prayer/fast – January 10th through January 30th.  This fast has given me about 30 minutes a day (checking on the game for about 5 minutes 4-6 times a day) and I have been spending it reading more of the Bible.  I currently have 3 reading plans open on www.youversion.com.  One is a year-long reading plan called Robert Roberts – day 9 if you want to join me and catch up.  I just finished a reading plan on Wisdom and am currently signed up for a five-day plan called the Prayers of Jesus  (started today if you want to join me) and in addition I am reading through the Gospels in 30 days (again I started today if you wish to join me).  I will add short-term reading plans when my short-term reading plans end.  I’m using the mobile app for my iPad and Droid X and using the audio feature to read and listen to the readings (helps me pronounce the names and other words – lol).

Starting tomorrow I will begin to fast from Diet Pepsi.  This is more of a health thing and might be something that continues past the 21-day prayer/fast.  The first 3-days will be toughest physically – as I free my system from the caffeine.  The psychological part will be a little longer!  I enjoy my Diet Pepsi!  But part of fasting and praying is developing discipline and not allowing external things – worldly things – control us.  Removing Diet Pepsi will not give me more time with God – but it will make me more dependent on Him to fight a physical desire.

Another thing I plan to fast from during our 21-day fast is sugar.  No desserts – no candy – no sugar.  I plan to eat fruits – vegetables – and some small amounts of protein.  Again – this is a discipline thing – not a time saver.  I will miss me some Peanut M&Ms.

During the 21-day prayer/fast I plan to spend at least 30 minutes a day simply praying.  This will be above my reading and devotional time.  I will try to do this in one block of time each day – seeking God’s face – desiring His grace.

So what are you fasting from and what time will you spend before the Lord?  I would love to know so I can support you in prayer.  I share so you can support me in prayer and to encourage some to join me.  I will try to blog about my journey – so I would love to hear how you are doing and what God is telling you during the prayer/fast.  Remember – we are seeking God’s will for our lives and for the life of our church.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

Tweet this Blog Post

 

January 9, 2012 - Posted by | Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Fast | , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I plan on doing the Daniel fast.

    Like

    Comment by JR | January 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. I will be praying for you Pastor Ray…remember to eat protien to keep your mind sharp. I know the Lord has your back.

    Like

    Comment by Pam Lowry | January 9, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks for the prayers Pam… God is good – all the time!

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | January 9, 2012 | Reply

  3. Peanut M&Ms, my favorite. I am giving up all sweets and spending 15 more minutes a day doing my devotions. Thank you Pastor Ray for the challenge.

    Like

    Comment by Mary | January 10, 2012 | Reply

    • I’m praying for you Mary! Please pray for me…

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | January 10, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

