Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

All Men Are Like Grass – Ugh!

Isaiah 40:6

A voice says, “Cry out.” And I said, “What shall I cry?” “All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field.”

Last summer I lost my front yard.  A combination of lack of water – excess sunshine and a weak root system did it in.  I treated the ground – aerated – seeded with good seed – fertilized with starter fertilizer and winter fertilizer later in the season and this spring I fertilized it again.  It has come up strong and full – so far – as you can tell from the picture – but I fully realize that if I can’t figure out a way to water it this summer – it will be gone again.  I got an estimate for a sprinkler system – and that is way out of my price range – so I have to figure out how to sprinkle through the summer without burning the ground with the hose full of water in the middle of the day.

Even with all of that work this past fall – just a few weeks ago – at the start of March – maybe the end of February – my yard was like most yards – dormant (to a degree).  It did remain green through the winter this year – thanks to fertilizers and a mild winter – but it was in a dormant state just a few weeks ago.  With the warmer than normal March – with lots of sunshine and some rain – my yard is ahead of schedule this spring.  I might just have time to allow it to deepen the roots and thicken before the summer months.  I cut my grass at the highest setting my lawn tractor with a mulching kit (three times already this spring).  I cut it twice a week during the peak growing season so I don’t leave behind piles or clumps of dead grass.  I would love to have a green lawn throughout the year!

Then I read today’s passage – Isaiah 40:6 – A voice says, “Cry out.” And I said, “What shall I cry?” “All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field.”

I have struggled with my yard year after year ever since we built our home 14-15 years ago.  It comes in strong and by mid-summer it is just about gone in the front – last year it was completely gone.  It flourishes and fades – it comes on like it will last and then dies.  I wonder if this is how we are in our faith?  We come on strong and fade?  We return from a youth conference – a Promise Keepers event – Catalyst – a Women of Faith event and we just fade.  We stand strong for a season only to die in the heat of battle?  Is our faith like the grass and the flowers that come and go?  We’ve had flowers in our yard that have bloomed and died already this spring!  Is our faith like this?

Maybe this passage is a statement about how short life is – on earth.  We are here for such a short time – and if our focus is not on an eternity with God – have we not wasted our time here?  I want the years I have left to be meaningful for eternity – not just for my enjoyment – although I would love some of that too.  I pray our church is doing more than merely counting time.  I hope we are focused on reaching everyone for Christ!  Without Christ – like the grass and the flowers – when the time comes – we will wither and die – eternally – burnt in the fires of hell!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 29, 2012 - Posted by | Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey |

4 Comments »

  1. Wow! What an amazing analogy…We all need to stay watered (in the Word) to keep root system (Belief/Faith) strong. Thank you for the good word and at the way you made us look at it.

    Like

    Comment by Pam Lowry | March 29, 2012 | Reply

    • I agree Pam. This is a wonderful look at our faith. It seems like it is always up and down. I for one want to be more than that as I follow Christ.

      Like

      Comment by Mary | March 29, 2012 | Reply

      • Mary – I appreciate your insights and kind words.

        Like

        Comment by raymcdonald | March 29, 2012 | Reply

    • Pam – thank you for the kind words. You hit the nail on the head with the watering and root system – thanks!

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | March 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

