Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

If Anyone Loves Jesus!

John 14:23-24

23 Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. 24 He who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.”

RevRayIf you’ve raised children – you know that you would love for them to obey your rules – your teachings.  You try to set a good example for them and set standards and establish rules – and you hope that they grow to be moral and decent when they grow up.  Your hope is that they will become good citizens and as Christians – that they will yield their life to Jesus someday.  Our heart is for the best for our children and most of us would do just about anything for them.

Recently our family grew by two – one granddaughter that is just over five months old and another granddaughter that is just over six weeks old.  I know their parents – their mothers are our daughters – hope for them what we hoped for our children as they grew up.  I know as a family we will do whatever we can to see that they have the very best love and examples to grow to love Jesus and to be good people.

It doesn’t always happen – but our prayer is that they will take the best from us and do even better as they grow up.  My dad use to say stand on my shoulders and jump higher son.  He and mom did everything they could – most of the time – to see that we grew to love Jesus and live decent lives for sure.

Jesus – talking with His disciples – says – If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. He who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.”

Our Heavenly Parent wishes the very best for us.  God wants us to obey His rules – His teachings – His example set by Jesus Christ.  He wants us to grow to be disciples – true followers – disciple makers even.  Jesus said if we love Him and follow His teachings – the Father will love us too!  He even instructed us – telling us these weren’t His words – they were the words of the Father!

Yesterday I wrote a devotional thought titled – I Will Love God With All My Heart.  That is what God requires of us – a desire to love Him with all we have and all that we are!  As children of the Living God – it is our calling!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 25, 2013 - Posted by | Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

