Ray McDonald's Blog

Devotional Thoughts

Entering His Gates

Psalm 100:4

Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.

RevRayA little after 7 am this morning I walked into my office at my new appointment.  So many pastors throughout the United Methodist Church are going through the same procedure this morning as they begin ministry in new settings.  My prayer is for them and the people they will be called to serve in the weeks – months – and years to come.

When I pulled up to the church – the first thing I noticed were there were already vehicles parked in the church lot – I wondered if someone had beat me to the office (not a competition but rather an observation).  The next thing I noticed was the four city police cars next door – seemingly starting their shift.  As I walked into the church the place was empty – I was the first to arrive on this bright Monday morning.  There was a feeling of awe as I entered these hollowed halls.

As I settled into my office and opened my laptop and began the day – I came upon this passage from one of my favorite Psalms.  Psalm 100:4 – Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.

Today I enter the courts of my new appointment and I give thanks to God for the opportunity to serve Him and His people in this location.  I’m excited thinking about all that God will do with us together as we humble ourselves before Him – seek His face and desire His grace.  I know that God is not finished with us yet and together we will reach others in the community for Christ and grown ourselves in our faith walk.  Excited about the strong discipleship programs and the outreach programs this church already has and the desire to reach the lost.

Simply put – today marks a new beginning and I’m encouraged.  Already I have had my first visitor who explained some things to me and greeted me (my first official visit).  God – I pray that you will use me and use me up in Your service in this place.  May You be given glory and honor and praise.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 1, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Happy 1st day daddy n poppy

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    Comment by GalacticDream | July 1, 2013 | Reply

  2. Have a wonderful first week at your new place.
    Your congregation is blessed to have you there!

    Thank you for sharing with us (that aren’t there) every week!

    Like

    Comment by Em | July 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thank you for these thoughts. Praying that the congregation and you will enter God’s gates each day with thanksgiving and His courts with praise!

    Like

    Comment by Favorite Son | July 2, 2013 | Reply


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.