Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Does It Take Controversy?

profileI have a question for our readers.  It is a question I have asked before.  Does it take a controversial post to get people to share on our blog page?  I mean – if I believe the WordPress statistics – we get anywhere from 150-250 reads a day – not counting the nearly 400 people who get our blog posts by e-mail each time we post.

Some use this blog for a devotional thought each day.  Some read it for other purposes.  It would encourage me if every once in awhile several readers would leave a thought on some of our posts. We’ve had nearly 60,000 reads and that is an encouragement.  We have posted over 1,500 posts and have approved over 2,700 comments so that averages nearly two comments per post – but most of the comments are bunched together on the controversial posts.

We had readers from  the United States, United Kingdom, France, India, United Arab Emirates, Canada, Turkey, Italy, Ghana, Pakistan, and Australia today alone.  We have some regular posters for sure.  But the subjects that seem to generate the most comments as I mentioned before are the controversial posts on subjects like abortion, homosexuality, immigration, issues in our denomination and others.

Maybe that is the nature of the beast.  Devotional thoughts – the regular fare of this blog page – do not stir up folks to comment.  The political or religious controversies do stir people up.

I guess I’m just asking for a few more comments – agreeing or not – on some of the other posts – lol – if it strikes you that you should.  I love discussion.  I love debate.  I love having an opportunity to sharpen my beliefs through the process of sharing ideas (that is why I love group Bible study so much).

I promise to be faithful and post Monday through Friday.  I promise to present the Word of God without apology.  I promise to deal with day to day issues that many of us face.  I promise to present the controversial and the every day thoughts for us to take in and cause us to think.  I would love to hear from you through comments.

Whatever you decide to do – thanks for reading.  God bless you and may God’s grace cover you daily.

 

September 13, 2013 - Posted by | Encouragement, From the Pastor | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I don’t like to post comments to blogs because they seem to end up on my Facebook and I don’t want that. I don’t mind the blogger to know my identity, but I don’t want my comments posted with my name. I’ve been burned before with comments (don’t remember the blog), but I’m twice cautious.

    Like

    Comment by Henry Koether | September 13, 2013 | Reply

    • I hear you Henry. You can create an anonymous name like H.K. or something… Thanks for reading…

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | September 13, 2013 | Reply

  2. Also, some work-related firewalls sort out the blog posts and blog sites (natch), so some of us can’t read it, even during lunch. E-mail works just fine, for the most part.

    Like

    Comment by JustPlainDave | September 13, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

