Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God Will Never Leave Us Nor Forsake Us

Hebrews 13:5

God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

profileThe assurance of a parent was all that was often needed when we were in the dark camping and trying to fall asleep.  Dad would say – I’m here kids – watching over you – and we would feel comforted and soon fall asleep.

I remember one night that the power went out when our children were young.  Their mom and I comforted them as they fell asleep and checked on them through the night.  I imagine the comfort I felt knowing my mom and dad were near when I was a child was felt by my children as well.

God’s promise to us is – never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.  Now that is some promise.  Let’s look at it in the Old Testament in partial context.  Deuteronomy 31:1-6 – 1 Then Moses went out and spoke these words to all Israel: 2 “I am now a hundred and twenty years old and I am no longer able to lead you. The Lord has said to me, ‘You shall not cross the Jordan.’ 3 The Lord your God himself will cross over ahead of you. He will destroy these nations before you, and you will take possession of their land. Joshua also will cross over ahead of you, as the Lord said. 4 And the Lord will do to them what he did to Sihon and Og, the kings of the Amorites, whom he destroyed along with their land. 5 The Lord will deliver them to you, and you must do to them all that I have commanded you. 6 Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

The people of God were going to move forward without Moses – their leader who brought them up out of Egypt.  God promised to never leave them nor forsake them.  His promise was comforting to them for sure.

In the New Testament we see this passage quoted in today’s scripture.  Here it is in partial context.  Hebrews 13:1-5 – 1 Keep on loving each other as brothers. 2 Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it. 3 Remember those in prison as if you were their fellow prisoners, and those who are mistreated as if you yourselves were suffering. 4 Marriage should be honored by all, and the marriage bed kept pure, for God will judge the adulterer and all the sexually immoral. 5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

The early church was under heavy persecution and the author of Hebrews was giving them encouragement in their daily lives and recalled the promise of God – never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.

Today – as the persecution of Christians is once again worldwide and increasing in America even – we need to hear the promise of God – that He will never leave us nor forsake us.  What comfort that brought so many through the ages and to us today.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 25, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Marriage, Outreach | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

