Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Are We/You Listening?

Luke 3:2

during the high priesthood of Annas and Caiaphas, the word of God came to John son of Zechariah in the desert.

profileSeveral years ago I was in a deer stand before dawn – waiting for the morning and the day’s hunt.  In the dark and stillness of the morning – I often drifted off (strapped in of course) or spent the time in prayer.  This morning I was doing a little of both when within my mind God began to speak to me (I cannot say it was audible – but I definitely heard God speaking to me).  It was a personal message I won’t share here – but I thought – what a place to hear from God!  I began to take a small pad of paper and pen with me (this was before data phones).

Another time I was riding my bike around South County – up and down route 2.  I usually have my iPod with me with one earpiece in and one out to listen for the road noise.  I didn’t have it this time but was deep in my own thoughts when I felt – again – the voice of God deep within me.  This time it was an answer to a troubling situation in our church.  I couldn’t wait to get home to write it down so I wouldn’t forget it.

God has spoken to my mind/hear on many occasions in church – in worship – but God can also speak to us in other places.  At times I have earnestly been seeking His face and desiring His grace and at other times He has caught my train of thought and brought it on Him.  Once while driving to Baltimore to a hospital God gave me a clear message about an issue I was facing.  Have you ever experienced God speaking to you?  If you’re waiting for an audible voice – God may not bless you with that – but God still wants to speak to us – I’m convinced.

Let’s look at today’s passage in partial context.  Luke 3:1-3 – 1 In the fifteenth year of the reign of Tiberius Caesar — when Pontius Pilate was governor of Judea, Herod tetrarch of Galilee, his brother Philip tetrarch of Iturea and Traconitis, and Lysanias tetrarch of Abilene— 2 during the high priesthood of Annas and Caiaphas, the word of God came to John son of Zechariah in the desert. 3 He went into all the country around the Jordan, preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.

John the Baptist was in the desert – wandering around – seeking His face and desiring His grace – and God spoke with him.  He gave him marching orders to go and preach a message of baptism for the repentance for the forgiveness of sins.

Throughout the Old and New Testament we see how God gets the attention of those He wishes to use for His purposes.  I believe – even today – God wants to use us for His purposes.  Are we listening?  It might be in unusual places like a deer stand or riding a bike.  It might be in the midst of worship.  Our spirit – our mind/heart – needs to be open to hear God speak to us.  It might not be in a burning bush – it might not be in the midst of worship or a time when we might expect God to speak.  But hear me today – as you read this devotional thought – God is still in the business of speaking to His children!  Are we/you listening?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 26, 2013 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

