Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

What Is It That We/You Treasure?

Matthew 6:20

But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.

profileWhen I was younger I collected baseball cards.  I have some real old ones – some special players to like Mickey Mantle – Brooks Robinson – Frank Robinson – Jim Palmer – Roger Maris – Reggie Jackson – Don Drysdale – Sandy Koufax – and many others.  The Orioles were my favorite team and I collected as many of their cards as possible.

I treasured my baseball cards and kept them in a box under my bed.  Later I put some in a special box and hid it in my room.  I’m glad I did because my mom was once having a yard sale and my little brother rummaged through things in the basement and found my comic book collection and brought them out to be sold for pennies (I might have been able to retire today had I kept that collection).

I now have a fireproof box for important papers – no my baseball cards are not in it.  Treasured items are kept in special places.  Some have security boxes at the bank for their treasurers.  Some have wall safes or other places to store their treasures.  What is it you treasure?  Where do you keep your treasures?

Today’s passage tells us to store up for ourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  Here it is in partial context.  Matthew 6:19-21 – 19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Some people are so earthly bound they are of no heavenly good.  I know – that might be reversed from how you learned it – but I actually think it makes sense this way.  If we are so bound to earth – to the things of earth – that we are so focused on them we fail to spend time with our Lord and our mission fields – we have taken away from what God has called us to accomplish.  Earthly things have their place – but – they need to stay in their place and not become the focus of our lives.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

What is it that we/you treasure?  Our heart will be sold out to what we treasure.  Is it Jesus?  If not – it should be for sure.  Let us examine our hearts and see if Jesus is first.  Jesus said the greatest commandment was to love God with everything we have and everything we are – read it here: Mark 12:30 – Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.  Certainly sounds like our love for God should be greater than our love or even our desire for anything else.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

 

September 27, 2013 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Personal | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

