Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Imitators of Christ?

1 Corinthians 11:1

Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ. NKJV

profileWhen I was a younger lad – my mom tells the story of a snowy winter day while we lived in Seat Pleasant – MD.  The snow was pretty deep – I was probably 4th or 5th grade – and my father had gone out into the yard to bring in some fire wood to help keep the house warm (and for the beauty of an open fire in the fireplace – dad loved fires in the fireplace).  As mom would tell the story I tried very hard to follow my dad – to walk in his footprints in the snow.  But in trying to step in his long strides and land where his next step landed – I tumbled over into the snow bank.  I tried a few times.  The point is I was trying to imitate or follow my father.  I failed – many times – but the main point of the story was that I was trying to imitate my dad.  I was watching my father and trying to step in his footsteps.

There have been stories like this over the course of my growing up days.  My dad was a great example for a young man to follow.  Many followed his example – not just my little brother – sister and me.  A number of young men and women followed his example – a number became pastors and leaders in the church.  When he died – there were many men and women who expressed – in person – in e-mail and through social media how much dad’s example meant to them.  Dad walked the walk – he didn’t just talk the talk.  His legacy was a godly example for his children and others to follow.

Who is watching you?  Who is trying to follow in your footsteps?  Who is striving to imitate youToday’s passage is from Paul – a follower of Christ – an Apostle of our Lord.  Paul writes – as recorded in the NKLVimitate me, just as I also imitate Christ. He was urging his readers to become followers of Christ.  He was so confident in his own walk – striving to follow Christ – that he even told them that if they followed him – they would be following Christ.

Oh what God could do with a church filled with men and women like my dad and Paul – people who were striving to live after the example of Christ in such a way that others could follow them and thus follow Christ.

In Sunday’s message we talked about our legacy as a Christian – as a parent – as a church family.  We wondered aloud what the next generation would say about how we walked the walk and how we guided our local church.  Would they look at us now and in the future and know that if they followed our example – they would be following Christ?  Would they see in us – through us – and in spite of us at time – Jesus?

Imitation is the highest form of flattery.  Imitating Christ is what we are called to do as Christians.  We call ourselves after Christ – so we should follow His example – imitate Him.  In the NIV84 our verse today reads this way – Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ.

Who are we imitating?  Who are we following?  Do we appear to others to be following Christ – self – or the devil?  More than likely all three at different times but the hope is that more and more we will rebuke the devil – deny self – and take up our cross and follow after Jesus.

How about it?  Who will you follow today?  My prayer is that we will follow/imitate Christ – and all the more as we see the Day approaching.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 30, 2013 - Posted by | Daily Devotion | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

