Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Who Am I?

Exodus 3:11

But Moses said to God, “Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”  NIV84

profileHave you ever wondered – who am I?  It was not uncommon in the 60’s and 70’s for young people to face confusion about who they were – what with the Vietnam war – peace rallies and then the aftermath of that war and decade.  Maybe every generation faces this question – who am I?  During the 60’s and 70’s a number of people I knew went out to find themselves.  For many this meant moving away from home – maybe going to California or Canada or somewhere where the rules of their present life didn’t apply.  Some went off to college and through this journey tried to find themselves.  For some it meant experimenting with life and at times drugs.  Communes were not uncommon – where people tried to live without constraints – trying to find themselves.

Today we can simply click an app and know exactly where we are at any given time (that was meant to be a funny!).  Where are you in your life’s journey?  If you asked the question who am I what would your answer be at this given moment?

Moses had one of those who am I moments as recorded in today’s passage.  Let’s read it in partial context.  Exodus 3:1-11 – 1 Now Moses was tending the flock of Jethro his father-in-law, the priest of Midian, and he led the flock to the far side of the desert and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. 2 There the angel of the Lord appeared to him in flames of fire from within a bush. Moses saw that though the bush was on fire it did not burn up. 3 So Moses thought, “I will go over and see this strange sight — why the bush does not burn up.” 4 When the Lord saw that he had gone over to look, God called to him from within the bush, “Moses! Moses!” And Moses said, “Here I am.” 5 “Do not come any closer,” God said. “Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy ground.” 6 Then he said, “I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob.” At this, Moses hid his face, because he was afraid to look at God. 7 The Lord said, “I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt. I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering. 8 So I have come down to rescue them from the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey — the home of the Canaanites, Hittites, Amorites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. 9 And now the cry of the Israelites has reached me, and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. 10 So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.” 11 But Moses said to God, “Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?” NIV84

God was presenting a task – a challenge – before Moses and he was overwhelmed by the event.  This was the burning bush experience and God was calling Moses to go to Pharaoh and tell him to let God’s people go!  Moses responded to the request – “Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”

Have you ever felt that way?  Ever felt overwhelmed by what God was presenting to you – what life was bringing your way?  As we’re striving to be obedient to God we will hear – I believe – what Moses heard as a response to our question of who am I.  Exodus 3:12 – “I will be with you.” NIV84

Remember – God doesn’t always call the equipped – but He will equip the called – if they faithfully respond to His call.  What is God calling you to that has you puzzled?  What is it that leaves you wondering – like Moses – who am I that you would call me to such a great task?  Trust in the One who calls and be obedient to Him.  Seek His face and desire His grace and He will never leave us nor forsake us.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 1, 2013 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Outreach, Questions, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

