Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Where Do You Meet God?

Genesis 12:8b

There he built an altar to the Lord and called on the name of the Lord. NIV84

profileHave you ever had a meet Jesus moment?  I remember several times where I have felt Jesus was right there with me.  I’ve mentioned some of them in past devotional thoughts.  There was the summer of 1967 when I was 12 and we had a revival at our church and I received Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior.  There was the time I took part in a 24 hour month-long prayer vigil and felt Jesus with me in the chapel as I prayed and read the scriptures.

There have been other times when I felt so close to Jesus as well.  One time that stands out – and I have shared it before as well – was the Stand in the Gap event that Promise Keepers sponsored on the Mall in DC.  We had over a million men gathered together to worship God and give Him glory.

Those are highlight moments and there are others for sure.  Maybe for you it was a prayer room at a hospital while you were waiting for a love one to pull through surgery.  Maybe it was at a Women of Faith conference or a Catalyst conference.  Maybe it was on an Emmaus Walk.  Can you think of a time when you felt especially close to God?

Abram (Abraham) in today’s passage was feeling especially close to God and decided to mark the spot where he felt this way (he did this quite often).  Here is today’s passage in partial context.  Genesis 12:6-9 – 6 Abram traveled through the land as far as the site of the great tree of Moreh at Shechem. At that time the Canaanites were in the land. 7 The Lord appeared to Abram and said, “To your offspring I will give this land.” So he built an altar there to the Lord, who had appeared to him. 8 From there he went on toward the hills east of Bethel and pitched his tent, with Bethel on the west and Ai on the east. There he built an altar to the Lord and called on the name of the Lord. 9 Then Abram set out and continued toward the Negev. NIV84

Where do you meet God?  People would come from miles around to these altars Abraham created.  He would stop there and pray every time he came through that area as well.  Where do you meet God?  Is it at your kitchen table – with your Bible and a cup of coffee each morning?  Is it your favorite chair and light – with your Bible and maybe a devotional?  Is it in your backyard – under a certain tree?  Is it at the beach – early in the morning?  Is it watching the sunset?  Is it at the altar at church where you go to pray?  Is it during your commute each day?  Where do you meet God?  Where do you feel especially close to God?  Wherever you feel especially close to Jesus – let me urge us to go there often to seek His face and desire His grace.  Spend as much time in your special place as possible.  Being in the presence of God is a unique feeling – and we should approach the throne of God as often as possible.  I have a small altar rail in my office and often spend time there praying for our church and for my family and friends.  I pray for our country’s leaders and for others as well.  It is one of my special places.  Where do you meet God?  Go there today and spend some time before God!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 4, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Ray, I enjoy daily prayer with my wife each day. Other spiritual highpoints in my life include my call to ministry at age 14, my ordination at age 22, an Emmaus Walk, and hiking on the Appalachian Trail.Thank you for your post. I found it inspiring.

    Like

    Comment by Favorite Son | October 6, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

