Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

At Just The Right Time!

Romans 5:6

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.

profileTiming is everything.  Throughout my growing years – in sports especially – I was told this truth – timing is everything.  Now in golf I am reminded of this truth again and again.  It does ultimately matter for distance how hard you swing – but for most of us – it is more about timing.  The more we have a good tempo in our swing the more accurate and more distance we will get.  The choppy swing like Charles Barkley has will not produce any kind of consistency.

At just the right time! I know someone who got into computers at just the right time.  They have very little education but they have a great job and it is a high paying job – because they got into computers at just the right time.

At just the right time!  When I look at my wife – inside and out – and then look at me – inside and out – I realize that I must have asked her to marry me at just the right time!  No other answer for it!

At just the right time!  Can you think of anything in your life that happened at just the right time?  I know my two granddaughters came along at just the right time.  I needed them in my life after the year I have had!  With my dad dying – their joy and laughter lift my spirits.  Wish he had gotten to see them – his great-grandchildren.  One daughter says her daughter and pop passed each other in heaven – one leaving to spend time here and one arriving to spend eternity there!

Today’s passage talks about just the right time.  Romans 5:6 – You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. NIV84  Christ coming to earth – living and dying on the Cross of Calvary wasn’t a happenstance event.  It happened at just the right time!  Christ’s death on the cross paid for my many sins (it is too easy to think of the grandness of his death – covering the sins of the whole world – effective for those who would receive Him).  I must think about it in a personal way.  At just the right time – Jesus died for me – while I was still powerless – still His enemy through my lost sinful nature – He died for me to pay my debt of sin!

This is such an awesome passage and truth.  Here it is in partial context.  Romans 5:6-8 – 6 You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7 Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. 8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  NIV84

Have you availed yourself of this awesome gift – given at just the right time?  If not – confess your sins and your need for Jesus in your life as your Lord and Savior – repent and turn from your sins and seek His face and desire His grace and He will forgive you as well!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 11, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. YOU ARE SO VERY RIGHT, THIS IS JUST THE RIGHT TIME FOR ME, JESUS HELPED ME THRU MY SORROW, I LOST MY DAUGHTER ON 06/13/2013 AND THEN IN AUGUST I HAD OPEN HEART SURGENY, HE WAS RIGHT THERE FOR ME, JUST THE RIGHT TIME.

    Like

    Comment by BOBBI DUSTIN | October 11, 2013 | Reply

  2. One daughter says her daughter and pop passed each other in heaven – one leaving to spend time here and one arriving to spend eternity there!

    Special!

    Like

    Comment by Margaret | October 11, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

