Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Are We Ashamed of Jesus?

Luke 9:26

If anyone is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.

profileI need to confess – and I don’t feel good doing it – but there was a time in my life when I had a friend I didn’t want to be seen with at school.  I was ashamed of him in a way.  You see – he wasn’t part of the groups I hung with at school.  He wasn’t a jock.  He wasn’t cool.  He wasn’t in any of the organizations I was in at school.  But he did attend my church and we were friends.  I am ashamed today to remember how I treated him or rather how I avoided him at school.  It only happened for a few months – and God convicted me – but none-the-less – I did it.

At times that is the way we treat God.  We are friends at church – but at work or even around our friends we tend to avoid Him – at least some of us do.  We like being friends or thinking we are friends with Jesus – because there are such benefits we think – like heaven.  But are we trying friends with Jesus?  And if we are not – who are we fooling anyway?

Today’s passage talks about being ashamed of Jesus.  No one would admit it – I bet – but when we fail to witness – when we fail to share our faith with someone – when we fail to give God glory for something in our life – we are being ashamed of Jesus.  Here is today’s passage in partial context.

Luke 9:23-27 – 23 Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. 24 For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it. 25 What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, and yet lose or forfeit his very self? 26 If anyone is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels. 27 I tell you the truth, some who are standing here will not taste death before they see the kingdom of God.”

I wonder – years later – how my friend felt?  I wonder if he ever knew that I was avoiding him at school.  He isn’t God so he didn’t know my thoughts – and might have just thought that we missed each other at school.  But I knew and know and it hurts me even today.  God knows when we are ashamed of Him folks – when we avoid bringing His name up in conversations – fail to witness for Him because we are afraid of the consequences.  Are we ashamed of Jesus?

We need to hear Jesus’ words echoing in our head when we fail to acknowledge Him!  If anyone is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 15, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

