Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Like a Little Child

Mark 10:15

Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.

profileWhen my oldest daughter was a little girl we went camping as a family with other families from our church and community.  It was a place in northern PA and it had a jungle gym for children.  Shelly was playing on it and it was time for supper.  She had been playing and was on a platform where her feet were higher than my head.  I walked over to the jungle gym and reached out my hands and told her to jump to daddy.  She didn’t question me but came to the edge of the platform and jumped into my waiting arms.  I caught her and we went to eat.

One year later we were at the same camp – she was year older.  Same scenario as before – I told her to jump to daddy and she walked to the edge and looked over at me and said but daddy – I could fall.  In one year she went from total trust to skepticism.  With some encouragement she slower jumped into my arms – but she wasn’t so sure!

Our trust of God is supposed to be like Shelly during her first experience – the total trust of a child in her parent!  Mark 10:15 quotes Jesus as saying – Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.

Here is today’s passage in partial context.  Mark 10:13-16 – 13 People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them. 14 When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. 15 Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” 16 And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them.

So – how’s your/our faith?  Are we like the little children – full of faith and trust in God?  Or are we like Shelly was her second year at camp and maybe worse (she did trust me – although reluctantly – after some encouragement)?  Are we so far removed from walking in faith that we have to have everything proved to us – laid out for us – with no trust involved because we can hold it and see it?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 17, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. YOU ARE SO RIGHT, I TRULY BELEIVE THAT GOD IS THERE WHEN I NEED HIM, BUT SOMETIMES HE MAKES ME WAIT, BUT IAN STILL THERE WAITING

    Like

    Comment by BOBBI DUSTIN | October 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

