Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Victory in Jesus

1 Corinthians 15:57

But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

profileOne of my favorite hymns is Victory in Jesus.  Here are some of the lyrics from that old favorite hymn.

I heard an old, old story, how a saviour came from glory, how he gave His life on Calvary, to save someone like me. I heard about His groaning, of His precious blood’s atoning, then I repented of my sin and won the victory.

Oh, victory in Jesus, my saviour forever, He sought me and bought me with His redeeming blood. He loved me ere I knew Him, and all my love is due Him. He plunged me to victory beneath the cleansing flood.

I heard about His healing, of His cleansing pow’r revealing, how He made the lame to walk again, and caused the blind to see. And then I cried “dear Jesus, come and heal my broken spirit” and somehow Jesus came and brought to me the victory.

Oh, victory in Jesus, my saviour forever, He sought me and bought me with His redeeming blood. He loved me ere I knew Him, and all my love is due Him. He plunged me to victory beneath the cleansing flood.

Today’s passage says this same truth.  1 Corinthians 15:57 – But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Let’s look at it in partial context.  It is a section of Scripture where God through Paul is describing our life to come.  It is used a funerals to give us assurance of our eternity if we walk with Jesus.  1 Corinthians 15:50-58 – 50 I declare to you, brothers, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable. 51 Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed— 52 in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. 53 For the perishable must clothe itself with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality. 54 When the perishable has been clothed with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality, then the saying that is written will come true: “Death has been swallowed up in victory.” 55 “Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?” 56 The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. 57 But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. 58 Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

We’re having a Pre-Lenten revival on March 2nd through March 5th at First UMC in Laurel and I’m leaning toward Victory in Jesus as a theme.  As we walk toward the cross together I want to remind us that we have victory over life – over death – in Jesus!  Death has no power over us – but our victory is in Jesus.  Walk with Jesus today – the One that gives us victory over all!

Plan now to attend each night (only four nights).  Put it on your calendar and prepare for our walk toward the Cross of Calvary.  We’ll be planning something special each night and our Fellowship team will be busy connecting us as a congregation.

Today – October 18th – you can walk in the victory that is ours through Christ Jesus our Lord.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 18, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Cool. One of my all time favorites too. It was the theme song on Maryland Emmaus #23 (my first team).

    Like

    Comment by Henry Koether | October 18, 2013 | Reply

  2. I read this passage at my godfather’s funeral, and it quickly became one of my favorite passages of scripture. Nice to see the connection to the familiar hymn song.

    Like

    Comment by Former Catholic | October 18, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

