Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A November Fast

profileI just returned from an Emmaus weekend and feel compelled to improve my walk with Jesus. One of my dying moments was to deny myself more and follow Jesus even more. One way I plan do this is through a fast during the month of November (this will be more than a food fast). I would like to invite others to join me. I will describe my fast and write about it on my blog page. You can join me in the fast I am walking or create your own. I would love to read what you are doing if you are fasting and walk along with you for encouragement.

My fast will be a progressive fast, meaning I will add things to my fast as the month goes along. I will tackle one thing each week and try to stay with the preceding week’s fast as I add another item during the next week. If you would like to join me but what I have listed as my fast item doesn’t work for you (maybe what I pick is not a desire for you or you have already defeated it) add something of your own.

Challenge yourself. Do not give up something that is not hard to give up. I haven’t decided yet what to give up on week 2 through 4 plus a three-day tough challenge at the end of the month but I will list them on my blog page as God reveals them to me.

Here are the week segments.
Week 1 – November 1-7 – snack foods and candies
Week 2 – November 8-14
Week 3 – November 15-21
Week 4 – November 22-28
Extra – November 29-31

Week one I have decided to give up snacks. During this week I will refrain from eating any snack foods and candies (for me these include chips, most nuts, candies, ice cream and other empty high calorie items). I will strive to eat nothing after I eat my evening meal. If I have to snack between meals it will be with fruits and vegetables but I will strive to only eat at meal time. The fast is from snacks and candies.

When I crave what I am fasting from each week, I will begin to pray, seeking His face, while desiring His grace. The more I crave, the more I will be adding time to my prayer life, a win-win situation for sure, defeating a craving and spending more time with Jesus.

A fast, for me, is taking spiritual control over a physical desire. My prayer is that after the month of November I will have more spiritual control over a number of physical desires – cravings in my life. I also pray that my walk with Jesus will be deeper and more personal. Won’t you join me?

October 28, 2013 - Posted by | Community, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Fast, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Prayer | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Ray,
    You have set a great challenge for yourself. For your first week, i recommend having a snack on hand that is on your acceptable list. For me, baby carrots and air popped pop corn are easy choices. I also recommend drinking a full glass of water first when the snack cravings occur. I often look for snacks that make my mouth water when i am really mostly thirsty.

    Like

    Comment by David Graves | October 28, 2013 | Reply

    • Good suggestion Dave – thanks! I will make sure I have baby carrots and a healthy dip near by – home and the office!

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | October 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. Ray, coming off of the Women’s Emmaus weekend I feel compelled to follow you on this journey. I know I am getting a late start on the first week but beginning this moment I too will join you and will fast from snack foods and candies. Thanks Ray.

    Like

    Comment by Jeanne | November 5, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

