Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

My Peace I Give to You

John 14:27

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

profileWhen I was a teenager – the peace symbol was all the rage.  The Vietnam War was still raging and folks wanted peace rather than war.  I remember the peace symbols that people wore on their shirts – at times on their military style shirts and jackets even.  Peace was all the rage.

What brings you peace?  Would financial freedom bring you peace?  Would a good health report bring you peace?  Would health in your marriage bring you peace?  What would bring you peace?  Peace is something that most all of us want.

Today’s passage is part of Christ’s final words to His disciples.  He was giving them some final instructions and one of the things He told them was that He was going to leave them peace. John 14:27 – Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Let’s read today’s passage in partial context.  John 14:23-27 – 23 Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. 24 He who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.  25 “All this I have spoken while still with you. 26 But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

If you want real peace – it will not come from money – it will not come from health – it will not come from anything physical.  The kind of peace that is real and that is lasting is the peace we get from a relationship with Jesus.  Jesus wants to give us peace – everlasting peace.  Turn your life over to Him today – seek His face and desire His grace – and peace will be yours.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 29, 2013 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Personal, Prayer | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

