Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

November Fast Update

profileSisters and Brothers,

I am still praying about what to add to my fast for week two which starts on November 8.

Here are the week segments.
Week 1 – November 1-7 – snack foods and candies
Week 2 – November 8-14
Week 3 – November 15-21
Week 4 – November 22-28
Extra – November 29-31

Here is an update from my November Fast.  I did a video clip today to share on Facebook so I thought I would share it here as well.

I was thinking about fasting from the TV and spending more time with my wife and the Lord.  I was also thinking about fasting from all drinks other than water for a week.  I have also been praying about fasting from negative people and situations that might bring my spirit down.  In Bible study this morning we talked about 1 Peter 4:1-12 and got into a discussion of how we can deny ourselves and follow Jesus more closely.  It has caused me to think more about the things that keep me from spending more and more time with God and God’s people.

Maybe one week I add sports to my list – watching and reading about them.  Or social media and spend that time in the Word and with other Christians face-to-face.

Any ideas you might have would be appreciated.  If you have joined me in this fast – what are you fasting from this first week?  What are you thinking about for the weeks to come?

Remember – if what I am fasting from is not a challenge to you – come up with something that would be a challenge for you.

Here is the original post about the fast: https://raymcdonald.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/a-november-fast/

Here is an additional post about the fast: https://raymcdonald.wordpress.com/2013/11/02/being-steadfast-day-3/

Please pray for me.  My desire is to have spiritual control over all areas of my physical life and to be drawn closer to Christ through this November fast.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

November 5, 2013 - Posted by | Daily Devotion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

