Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Know That I Am God (God says)

Psalm 46:10

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

profileI remember in elementary school – there were some boys and girls who must have been held back a few years.  They were more mature than the rest of us – biologically.  They did the craziest thing during recess.  They would walk hand-in-hand around the playground.  I mean they would form a line and would parade around the playground – hand-in-hand.  This was back in the days when elementary school was 1st through 6th and they must have been old enough – the ring leaders to be in Junior High School (7th through 9th).

As the ring leaders led – many of the other 5th and 6th graders (our recess group) who were paired off (going with someone – lol) would join them.  The line got pretty long if I remember correctly.  Somehow during the school year a girl and I started to like each other – as much as any 6th grader can like another I guess.  She wanted to join the line at recess – I wanted to play ball.  You can see where I’m headed – no – I didn’t join the line – I lost a girlfriend – lol.  She was very dramatic and threw my 10 cent ring across the room after school one day when she broke up with me.  Strangely – it didn’t seem to impact me much.

About now you’re wondering what this has to do with the passage for the day.  Just this – those who joined in the parade line were following the oldest kids – those who were older and had been held back – as if they were kings or something.  Did I mention that they were hoods and did beat up a few smaller kids that year?

I’ve run into this type person in my life a few times.  I once heard that if we could buy some people for what they are worth and sell them for what they think they are worth we would be richer than our wildest dreams.  Some people are so hung up on themselves and some folks are hung up on the opinion of the in crowd or the popular group.  I was never in the popular group during my school years (or ever).  I sort of fit into the jock group – although I was never a star or even a major contributor – so I barely fit.  I fit into the band group – playing trumpet for the Orchestra – Concert Band – Jazz Band and other groups.  But band members aren’t the in crowd – except those who are really good and even then they are mostly in with other band members (so it is like being cool with the not cool crowd).

The verse that follows two of my favorite verses in the Bible is Romans 12:3 – For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you.  I learned at an early age – although I haven’t followed what I learned perfectly over the years – God is God and we are not!  We can get so full of ourselves at times that we even try to replace God as god in our life.  We want to make our own rules.  We want to have folks follow us around the playground – following our every move.

When we feel a little puffed up about our importance in life – we should all read Psalms 46:10 – “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

 

November 6, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

