Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

November Fast – Week Two

Matthew 4:1-2

1 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert to be tempted by the devil. 2 After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry.

profileHere we are – day one of week two – of the November Fast.  I can’t say I’m hungry because I didn’t fast like Jesus did – but I did have a desire for a Snicker’s bar this past week – my candy of choice.  I slipped up – like I reported on my blog page here – and had a couple of chips at a church meal before I remembered.  But for the week I stayed away from snacks and candies.

Now week two is upon us.  I have decided to fast from fast food during week two.  Fast food is another of my weaknesses.  I mean – you can get a double hamburger for a buck!  And it is quick – in and out and you’re on your way with lunch or a late night snack.  The trouble is a double hamburger at this one place is 390 calories and not all good calories at that.

So here we go with week two.  Here are the week segments.
Week 1 – November 1-7 – snack foods and candies
Week 2 – November 8-14 – fast foods
Week 3 – November 15-21
Week 4 – November 22-28
Extra – November 29-31

Remember – if what I am fasting from isn’t something you need to gain control over in your life – pick something different.  I’m still going to try and stay away from snack foods and candies during week two – I’m just adding fast food to the list.

I’m still trying to not eat between meals and after supper.  Next week I think I will fast from something different (from food).  I’m thinking of fasting one week from TV.  Might be next week – we’ll see.

How are you doing?  Are you fasting from anything – showing spiritual control over physical desires?  When Jesus fasted – He was preparing Himself for a time of tempting – some serious tempting – from the devil himself.  Matthew 4:1-2 – 1 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert to be tempted by the devil. 2 After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry.

The devil tempted Christ.  Let’s read them here.  Matthew 4:3-11 – 3 The tempter came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.” 4 Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.'” 5 Then the devil took him to the holy city and had him stand on the highest point of the temple. 6 “If you are the Son of God,” he said, “throw yourself down. For it is written: “‘He will command his angels concerning you, and they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.'” 7 Jesus answered him, “It is also written: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.'” 8 Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor. 9 “All this I will give you,” he said, “if you will bow down and worship me.” 10 Jesus said to him, “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only.'” 11 Then the devil left him, and angels came and attended him.

As we fast from items that we desire – and spend more time with Jesus – our prayer is that we will be more like Jesus.  Our prayer is that as we assert spiritual control over physical desires we will be a brighter light for Jesus!  Who is with me?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

November 8, 2013 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Just saw this article today – http://nypost.com/2013/07/28/the-greatest-food-in-human-history/.

    Like

    Comment by raymcdonald | November 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

