Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

November Fast – Week Three

Matthew 4:1-2

1 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert to be tempted by the devil. 2 After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry.

profileOK – this fasting stuff is starting to get on my nerves.  Not the spending more time with Jesus part (loving that part) – but the fasting from stuff part.  The first week I fasted from snacks and candies.  As the week progressed I slipped once with some potato chips at a church luncheon (put them on my plate without even thinking about it – ugh).  The second week I added fast foods to my list while trying to continue with the snacks and candies fast.  At another church dinner (do you see a pattern here) I had a dessert and someone said something to me.  I mean – desserts are not snacks or candies right – but they thought I said I was fasting from sweets (which I did not say).  When you broadcast your fast there are eyes everywhere!!

I can’t say I was hungry like the Scripture says about Jesus today – but I was running late for work the other day and hadn’t eaten anything for several hours (oh my) and Burger King was right there on the way and a couple of double cheeseburgers sure would have tasted good – but no – I was fasting from fast food.  I tried to rationalize that the lunch line of cars was long and it wouldn’t really be fast so maybe it would be OK.  The devil tries to get us to rationalize all the time!  (Question – is Subway fast food?)  (Would the deli down the street from the church be fast food?)

OK – so what do we add to the list this week?  I thought about fasting from the computer – than I came to my senses and realized that wouldn’t work!  How would I report my progress – lol?  How would I post my daily blogs?  How would I breathe?

So – what to fast from on week three?  I thought of some fun things – like fasting from wearing suits – or fasting from doing yard work (those leaves would just have to wait a week).  Nothing stuck.  So I starting really thinking and I decided to fast – during week three – from being negative – from negative people – and negative situations.  You might ask – how can a pastor do that – aren’t there negative people in the church – isn’t that a given?  Yes there are and yes it is a given – sadly.  So if I ignore you this week – take that as a hint (lol)!  But I will be striving to not be negative myself all week – trying only to see the good in people and events.  I bet this will be harder than it sounds.  I am by nature a person who sees the things that need fixed/changed/corrected a lot faster than I am a person who sees the good in things!

Here is my prayer this week.  Lord – help me to see the good in people and in situations.  Help me to keep from being negative myself and protect me from negative people and situations.  When they arrive – help me to turn to You and seek Your face and desire Your grace.  Join me!  We can ignore each other and maybe we’ll take a hint!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

November 15, 2013 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Fast, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Prayer | , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Ray, I like it that you fast. Jesus fasted. It’s good, for a time, to put out of our lives and let more of Jesus in. The word breakfast is a compound word, break and fast. We are breaking our night’s fast from food and drink (unless one is a nighttime snacker). As a Weight Watcher, I can eat anything I want, but WW teaches healthy eating and living, more of a lifestyle change. I wonder if a fast can lead to a lifestyle change that is lasting, offering what we eat, drink, and do, to the Lord, lifting him up, glorifying Him by taking better care of our bodies 24/7/365? One thing is certain, I can do everything through Him who gives me strength (Phil 4:13 NIV).

    Like

    Comment by Favorite Son | November 16, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

