Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

November Fast – Week Four

Matthew 4:1-2

1 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert to be tempted by the devil. 2 After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry.

profileWell – here we are at week four. So far I have tried to fast from snacks and candies during week one.  During week two I tried fasted from fast foods.  That wasn’t easy as I travel a lot and often during meal time.  During week three I tried to fast from negative people and negative situations.  That wasn’t as easy as it sounded when I typed it a week ago.

During those three weeks I have tried to spend more time before the Lord in prayer and devotion.  It has been a time of reflection and growth.  I have discerned a number of things in my life that need to change during this past week. Without revealing them – let me simply say that God has had more access to my heart and mind these past three weeks than most any time I can remember.

Week four is at hand and I will try to fast from secular music and listen only to Christian music for the week.  This means several of my Pandora stations will not be playing in my office this week or in my car or at my desk at home.  I love all sorts of music – but I have challenged the church to draw near to God and one way was to listen to more Christian music – so the radio will be tuned to 91.9 and 95.1 FM while Pandora will be tuned to Kari Jobe – Christian Contemporary – Hymns 4 Worship – Bluegrass Gospel – or Contemporary Gospel channels.  I encourage all of our readers to try this fast and report back what God is able to do with your week.  I have a feeling that I will feel closer to God after this coming week.  I feel encouraged already.  I am currently listening to Contemporary Gospel music and the spirituals are so uplifting.  Try it.  You might like it!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

November 22, 2013 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Fast, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Over a year ago I was led to consider what I read, the source. I was reading mostly secular articles and novels, not much Christian literature. So I looked up the Christy book award winners and ordered all of them. One by one, I am reading them and enjoying the Christian worldview contained therein, which bolsters my own. I still read and listen to some secular stuff, elsewhere, but now I am better able to filter it through my Christian worldview. However, public radio, NPR, Morning Edition, and All Things Considered makes my blood boil, so I avoid the slanted news/views contained therein. I just can’t listen to falsehoods like that. So I guess my fast is from NPR broadcasts.

    Like

    Comment by Favorite Son | November 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

