Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

With All Your Heart

Jeremiah 29:13

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

profileSo – what did you get for Christmas?  Was it a surprise or did you buy your own gift and give it to someone to give to you on Christmas?  Are you still celebrating Christmas?  Our children will come over later this week and we will exchange gifts at that time.

As we move forward toward the end of the year and into the New Year – I put together sermons through March and some in June as well.  It was a fruitful day for sure.  On January 5th we will start a new sermon series at our church.  The series is titled Heart Surgery.  You can read about it here on Facebook if you’re interested.

Today’s passage reminds us to seek God with all our heart.  Here it is in partial context.

Jeremiah 29:10-13 – 10 This is what the Lord says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise to bring you back to this place. 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Is your heart sold out for Jesus?  Are you – am I – seeking after God – with all our heart?  Something to think about for sure.  Think about this.  If your spouse or girlfriend/boyfriend thought you only loved them partially or for what you could get out of the relationship – would they feel good or not so good about your expressed love?

Men – we are called to love our wives as Christ loves the church.  Ephesians 5:25-27 – 25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, 27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.  Christ gave His life for the church.  He left heaven for the church.  Husbands – do you – do we – love our wives as Christ loves/loved the church?

Where’s your heart?  Is it focused on God?  Do we love God with all of our heart?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

December 27, 2013 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Outreach, Personal | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

