Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God’s Will and Plan in Our Lives

Philippians 1:12

I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel,

profileAs the New Year unfolds before us many of us have a tendency to look backwards and examine the past.  I know I do that from time to time.  At the time of events we often have the question – why is this happening in our mind or where is God in all of this.   At times we can’t seem to understand events that unfold before us.  At times these unfolding events seem to be bad things at the moment – but in hindsight they often appear to be good things.  Have you ever experienced this in your life?  I know I have – especially in the last couple of years.

Let’s take a look at today’s passage in partial context.  Philippians 1:12-18 – 12 I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel, 13 so that it has become known throughout the whole imperial guard and to all the rest that my imprisonment is for Christ. 14 And most of the brothers, having become confident in the Lord by my imprisonment, are much more bold to speak the word without fear. 15 Some indeed preach Christ from envy and rivalry, but others from good will. 16 The latter do it out of love, knowing that I am put here for the defense of the gospel. 17 The former proclaim Christ out of rivalry, not sincerely but thinking to afflict me in my imprisonment. 18 What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in that I rejoice.

Paul was imprisoned and looking around him he found reasons to give God glory.  Others were more bold to preach the Gospel, others were preaching the Gospel to support Paul and some to somehow rub it in his face that he was in prison and they weren’t it seems.  What others could have seen as bad – Paul chose to see as God’s plan to have the Gospel preached – for whatever reason.

What has gone on in your life that at the time you didn’t see as good but looking back now you see as something God was using for His will and glory?

If you’re still trying to figure out God’s will in your life – read this passage from The Message and see if it helps.  Romans 12:2 – Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

Look back at the year just past and even further and see if there are things in your life that at the time you saw as not so good but now see God’s will and plan all over!  I know I do.  My last two years have been rough at times – yet God has shown me His will for my life and how His will is being played out in my life.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 6, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

