Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Just Do It!

Colossians 3:17

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

profileCan you believe that we are in the middle of January already?  It seemed like 2014 just started and we’re already facing the 13th of the month.  Time really does fly the older you get!  I use to doubt that statement but now I know it to be true.  Where has all the time gone?  I did a funeral for a dear friend recently and saw some folks I haven’t seen in some time and I must say – we have aged!  I went to my 40th High School reunion and I must say – we have changed.  I say we to be nice but of course I haven’t changed any. LOL Just those other old folks (just kidding of course).

Time flies!  But good advice always remains constant.  Good advice will almost always remain good advice. For instance my father once said if you have to ask it is probably wrong.  This is still so true.  Right is so clear and wrong is what operates in the fuzzy area of our rationalization.

Today’s passage is some good advice.  Colossians 3:17 – And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.  My dad use to say – and I’m sure many parents said the same thing – a job worth doing is a job worth doing well.  My children grew up watching Colby’s Place and today’s passage was one of the songs they memorized!  Do it in the name of the Lord – to God’s glory – some really good advice.

Short devotion today!  Just do it!  In the name of the Lord!  Whatever you do today and every day – do it in the name of the Lord!  Seek His face today and desire His grace!  Let the light of Christ shine from your life today!  Just Do It!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 13, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

