Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

What Do You Treasure?

Matthew 6:21

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

profileWe’ve passed through Christmas about a month ago and many of us got new treasures as presents.  I know I received a new fleece that I have worn often.  I also got a picture in a frame of one of my granddaughters and it is already on my desk at work and I look at it every time I’m at my desk.  I need one of my other granddaughter now!

What do you treasure?  I really enjoy golf and when the weather is nice I try to play with a friend most Saturday mornings (we’re usually one of the first groups to tee it up and finish mid-morning).  If I can – this summer – I want to get another round or two in during the week – maybe with some of the men and women from my new church.

What do you treasure?  What is it for which your heart aches?  Is it your spouse?  Is it your children?  Is it something or someone?  May I suggest that your spouse and your children/family should be high on your treasure list!  But God should be on the top of your list.

Matthew 10:34-39 – 34 “Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword.  35 For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law.  36 And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household.  37 Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.  38 And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.  39 Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

We should treasure God first and foremost.  We should love God with all we have and all that we are (Mark 12:30).  Of course – I assumed we would answer our spouse and family when asked to identify our treasures.  If we said our job or some item – we have a long way to go my friends.

We should constantly be examining our heart – examining what we treasure – making sure God is first.  Remember – it is a heart thing – the condition and position of one’s heart.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 22, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

