Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Wake Up Church

Revelation 3:2

Wake up, and strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your works complete in the sight of my God.

profileDuring the week of VBS my dad would wake us up with a song I believe he made up.  At the top of his singing voice – which was considerable – he would sing this Vacation Bible School song.  I can still remember him singing it today.  It woke us up for this day long – week-long event.

Dad wasn’t the subtle type.  He didn’t come up and lovingly whisper in our ears that it was time to get up and gradually allow us to deal with the early hour.  He allowed us to stay asleep as long as possible – I assume – and then he WOKE US UP!

How do you like to be awakened?  Is there really a good way?  About 15 minutes before my alarm goes BUZZ I have a radio timed to come on and it begins to air my favorite sports channel.  By listening to the DJs talk (105.7 The Fan) about the latest talking point about the Orioles or Ravens – I slowly wake – usually before the BUZZ sounds off.  Yesterday – because I was sore from a Kettlebell workout at the gym – I turned both the sport news and the buzzer off and slept an additional 45 minutes – just saying!

Today’s passage is a word from Jesus in John’s revelation.  Here it is in partial context.  Revelation 3:1-6 – 1 “And to the angel of the church in Sardis write: ‘The words of him who has the seven spirits of God and the seven stars. “‘I know your works. You have the reputation of being alive, but you are dead.  2 Wake up, and strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your works complete in the sight of my God.  3  Remember, then, what you received and heard. Keep it, and repent. If you will not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what hour I will come against you.  4 Yet you have still a few names in Sardis, people who have not soiled their garments, and they will walk with me in white, for they are worthy.  5  The one who conquers will be clothed thus in white garments, and I will never blot his name out of the book of life. I will confess his name before my Father and before his angels.  6  He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.’

What would it take to awaken the church today?  What would put a spark beneath us to live more fully for Jesus rather than for ourselves and the world?  A new saying of mine goes like this – The further the world moves away from God the more Christians should stand out!  Yet in reality – much of the church seems to be tagging on with the world as they move away from God.  Too often I hear that – the church should change with the times – and although I believe the message needs to be relevant to our culture – the message or truth of God’s Word is never changing.  Messages my grandfather and father preached have the same truth in them – even if the examples used might be limited to their generation.

The church needs to wake up and stand up for Jesus and His truths found in the Bible.  If the Lord returned today – do you know where you would spend your eternity?  Are we sold out for Jesus?  Are we seeking His face and desiring His grace?  Are we awake church?  Or are we sleep walking through our lives banking on grace?  Wake Up Church and strive to live every moment of every day for Jesus.  Stop following the world and stand up and be counted.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 29, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

