Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A Stumbling Block

Romans 14:13

Therefore let us not pass judgment on one another any longer, but rather decide never to put a stumbling block or hindrance in the way of a brother.

profileI’ve started to work out at a new gym.  One of the exercises in a class I am taking is jump up onto a box.  You can make the box 3 different heights.  I’ve jumped on the box set up for the first two heights but I haven’t tried the highest height yet.  It might be physical or it might be psychological.  I was able to jump on the middle height a few times but when we went to jumping several times – over and over – I had to go down to the lower height.

I’m not sure – but I think I think that the highest height would be a stumbling block to me.  I mean – I think I could get up that high – but then again – if I stumble – who would catch me.

I know that is what some would think of as a stumbling block.  Most would think of something almost ground level – something you might stumble over in the night even.  Today’s scripture says we are never to put a stumbling block or hindrance in the way of a brother.

Think a little about how you might cause your brother or sister to stumble in the faith.  Maybe something that isn’t a temptation to you – is a temptation to your brother or sister.  Maybe it is a temptation to you and you bring your sister or brother along.  Maybe it is our witness.  Maybe it is a weakness within us.  Maybe it is false teaching.  What is it that might cause a brother or sister stumble in the faith?  We are to decide never to put a stumbling block or hindrance in the way of a brother.  Think about it!

Think about it a little.  Could not connecting with our sisters and brothers in the church be a stumbling block?  Could a more connected church family support one another and help to hold each other accountable?  Could not doing something be a stumbling block or is it only when we do something.  Think about it!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 5, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

