Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Place Your Trust in Jesus!

Psalm 56:3

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.

profileDo any of your children (or you) have trouble in the dark?  Do you use – or do your children use – a nightlight?  I remember when I first got married – my new wife couldn’t go to sleep with the closet door open.  Maybe she had some childhood dreams or visions of things in her closet in the dark coming to life and scaring her.  Does the dark scare you?

I’ve written about this before – but it fits here too.  When I was younger – a child – we lived next to a cemetery.  At night we played hide-and-seek and I would often hide in the cemetery and almost always won because my friends or relatives wouldn’t come into the cemetery at night.  And if they did – I would make noises and sounds that scared them away.  I used their fear of the darkness and the unknown to help me win the game!  They would often try to get rules established about not hiding in the cemetery but I would never go along with it!

When Carolyn and I were early in our marriage – we went white water rafting.  After a long day of rafting in the heat of the day we came upon a deep pool of water along the river.  We all got out of our rafts and marched up to a large rock.  One by one – like lemmings – we jumped off the rock.  Did I mention that this was in spring and the waters came from the melting snow on the mountains?  I hit the water and lost my breath.  It was so cold and so sudden (I had no idea) I thought I might not come up!  I was afraid – for a brief moment!

So what are you afraid of in life?  The IRS agent?  The police?  The stranger at your door?  Your health or lack thereof?  Your children growing up and making decisions that will get them in trouble?  Losing your job and home?  Not having a job or home?  What is it that scares you?  What is it that frightens you?

Today’s passage says – when I am afraid, I put my trust in You (God).  Here it is in partial context.  Psalm 56:1-4 – 1 Be gracious to me, O God, for man tramples on me; all day long an attacker oppresses me; 2 my enemies trample on me all day long, for many attack me proudly. 3 When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. 4 In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?

If we just walked in that truth more – we would fear less.  What can flesh do to us that is lasting?  What can the world do that will impact our eternity?  Even if the worst that can happen – happens – and we draw our last breath on earth – we will have eternity with God.  If we believe this – I mean really believe this – we will be a little more like Paul who wanted – even yearned to be with Christ in heaven more than living another day – but suffered in this life because it was God’s will for him to help others.  Philippians 1:21-26 – 21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. 22 If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. 23 I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. 24 But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. 25 Convinced of this, I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your progress and joy in the faith, 26 so that in me you may have ample cause to glory in Christ Jesus, because of my coming to you again.  Fear not dear readers if your trust is in God – in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 12, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Good one, Ray. As children, we were afraid of the bedroom’s sliding closet doors. Being of wood, the doors had a grain pattern in them that looked like the ghoulish person in “The Scream.” Most fears can be addressed step by step, until they are no longer a problem. For instance, one time my car was rear-ended. For a while after that, I felt panicky approaching an intersection. I told myself, approaching an intersection, “Okay, an intersection is coming, there’s no reason to be afraid. God be with me.” It worked. Over time, I became accustomed and felt safe again.

    Like

    Comment by Favorite Son | February 12, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

