Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Spend Time with God in the Morning

Psalm 119:147

I rise before dawn and cry for help; I hope in your words.

profileEaster 2014 is coming soon.  I mean Lent is just around the corner – it is at the end of our Revival week – March 2-5 (Ash Wednesday is March 5).  I love Easter and look forward to it this year.  Easter Sunrise service is always special for me – I’ve only missed one in my adult life that I can remember.

On Easter morning I usually arise around 4 or 4:30 am.  Sunrise this year is according to one chart I saw will be at 6:22 am on April 20th.  That means we will need to begin our Sunrise Service at 6 am or earlier to begin in the dark – maybe 5:45 am.  I know that some of our men and women – some of my friends – wake that early or earlier on a regular basis.  One of my sons gets up that early most every day to go to work.  It is not my usual time to rise though.  As a matter of fact – there have been nights I haven’t gone to sleep until that time!  My normal time to rise is 6:00 am or thereabouts.  By that time we will be starting worship on Easter morning.  It will be a powerful morning – we will have a great time worshiping God and will be inviting other churches and the community to join us.  The sun rising will remind us that the Son rose.

How do you start your mornings – your regular mornings.  Do you start them before or after dawn – after the sun has risen?  The passage today says: I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in your word. Whatever time you rise – put your hope – your first thoughts – on God.  Read His Word – spend time in prayer – sit and listen for God to speak to your heart.  It will help start your day on the right note!  I know it works because it works for me – try it!  This will be one tool that you can use to focus your thoughts – your day – on Jesus.

I hope to see you this Sunday as we close out the Biblical Characters series.  During our series we have looked at Daniel – David – Ruth – Lazarus – and Sunday we will finish with Ezekiel.  The following Sunday – March 2 – will be the Revival.  You can listen to our sermons online here – or here fumcl.org/sermons/.  Remember – start your day with Jesus – focus on His word and will and our day will go a lot better – for sure!  Focus on Jesus and your day will go better.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 19, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

