Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

You Shall Be Holy

Leviticus 20:26

You shall be holy to me, for I the Lord am holy and have separated you from the peoples, that you should be mine.

profileMy dad tried to instill in me the need to follow the rules – to behave in a prescribed manner.  Not that there wasn’t room within his prescribed manner to deviate somewhat or to be an individual – but there certainly was a prescribed manner to behave.  I hope that makes sense.

One of his favorite sayings was if you’re old enough to make your own rules – you’re old enough to find your own roof.  Now he didn’t start using that phrase until we were older teens – it wasn’t something he began to use when we were toddlers!  But as we were old enough to make our own way – he would remind us that it was their home (mom’s and dad’s) and that if we wanted to behave in a way that was against their rules – their prescribed behavior patterns – we could find our own place to live.  He said that with love not with anger.  It wasn’t a threat.  It was simply the way he felt and he let us know.

Maybe you agree or disagree with that pattern of thinking but I believe it lines up with some Biblical thoughts myself.  There is a right and wrong.  There are less gray areas than some people want to suggest.  Following the Biblically prescribed way of living is not as flexible as some would like us to believe.

My High School football coach use to say it’s my way or the highway – an old saying I’m sure he didn’t make up.  He meant we would do things his way or we were off the team.  This was not a threat either – it was a promise!

These are some of the things I thought of when I came across today’s passage.  God was giving some marching orders to the people of Israel in today’s passage.  Here is today’s passage in partial context.  It is a section titled – You Shall Be Holy – in my Bible.  Leviticus 20:22-26 – 22 “You shall therefore keep all my statutes and all my rules and do them, that the land where I am bringing you to live may not vomit you out. 23 And you shall not walk in the customs of the nation that I am driving out before you, for they did all these things, and therefore I detested them. 24 But I have said to you, ‘You shall inherit their land, and I will give it to you to possess, a land flowing with milk and honey.’ I am the Lord your God, who have separated you from the peoples. 25 You shall therefore separate the clean beast from the unclean, and the unclean bird from the clean. You shall not make yourselves detestable by beast or by bird or by anything with which the ground crawls, which I have set apart for you to hold unclean. 26 You shall be holy to me, for I the Lord am holy and have separated you from the peoples, that you should be mine.

The call to God’s people from God is to be holy.  We are to walk in the prescribed manner God has set before us.  We can find that prescribed manner of living in the living Word of God – the Bible.  We are called to live holy lives.  Grace covers our sins – but we are called to live holy lives.

My father never disowned me when I failed him – when I did something outside of his prescribed manner of behavior.  He would discipline me and set me back on path – he would love me and that is why he disciplined me.  He wanted what he thought to be best for his son.  God does the same.  God disciplines those God loves and sets us back on the right path.  God desires to see us walk the prescribed path set before us.  God wants us to be holy – to walk according to His will and teachings – found in the Bible.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

P.S. – We’re having a revival at First United Methodist Church of Laurel on March 2-5.  Morning services on March 2 are at 8:15 and 11:00 am.  Evening services on Sunday through Wednesday are at 7:00 pm.  The church is located at 424 Main Street – Laurel – MD – 20707.  I hope to see some of our readers at the revival!

February 26, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. It’s important at an early age that we learn that there will always be rules to live by as a society. A biggie is accepted behavior. If I misbehaved in public, I was told we’d go back home and that was not a threat but a fact. It there were no rules, there would be chaos.

    Like

    Comment by snoyes4310 | February 26, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

