Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Walk By The Spirit

Galatians 5:16

But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. ESV

profileOur sin nature draws us to please self – to do the things that we desire – rather than the things that God desires of us.  Battle as we might – the sin nature often wins out.  Thank God for grace.

Here is a passage where Paul describes this battle within him – within us.  Romans 7:15-20 – 15 I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. 16 Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. 17 So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. 18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. 20 Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. ESV

Today’s passage urges us to walk by the Spirit – to walk opposed to the flesh.  Here is today’s passage in partial context.  Galatians 5:16-17 – 16 But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. 17 For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do. ESV

We must battle the flesh and walk in the Spirit.  We must strive to walk with Jesus – and trust that grace will cover our failures.  We should not bank on grace and live by the flesh – but rather strive to walk in the Spirit and allow grace to cover our failures – our sin!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 11, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

