Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Are You a Friend to Jesus?

John 15:15

I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.

profileLast Friday I spent a few hours with a friend playing golf at Twin Shields Golf Course in Dunkirk, MD. We teed off at 8:30 am and finished our round of 18 holes by 10:44. That is 2 hours and 14 minutes for 18 holes and we weren’t trying to rush – we just hit the ball fairly straight and didn’t need to wait on anyone.

Yesterday I got to play with another friend at the same course. The course is in great shape for this time of the year – the greens are really rolling smooth. If I could get my driver under control and learn to chip I might even have a good year. My first two rounds at Twin Shields this spring were 87 and 83. Room to improve for sure. Too many double bogeys and not enough birdies and pars. It will get better. At least I hope it does.

Both of these brothers I consider friends. Our conversation during each round was good therapy – at least it was for me. As a pastor – having friends outside of your church (even though I have some friends in the church I serve) is very important. Being able to be myself – even though I am always a pastor and always a Christian (as are these two men) – is important.

Do you have friends you can spend time talking to and sharing life? Friends are very important for all of us and hard to come by for sure. Acquaintances are pretty easy to acquire. True friends are harder to come by and very special. Someone once said be the friend you would like to have yourself. Sounds like good advice.

I think today’s passage is pretty powerful. Jesus called His Disciples His friends. John 15:15 – I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you. Imagine how the Disciples must have felt when Jesus told them – I have called you friends. We too can be called Jesus’ friend if we submit our lives to Him. We might sing What a Friend We Have in Jesus but Jesus is really only our friend as we walk with Him. In order to be a friend with Jesus – we must follow His teachings – obey His commands. John 14:15 – If you love me, keep my commands. That’s the challenge today – to seek after Jesus – to be His friend.  To be His friend – we are called to obey His commands – to follow His teachings.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 3, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

