Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

More Blessed to Give

Acts 20:35

‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’

profileDid you mother or father ever try to persuade you when they were preparing to discipline/punish you that it was going to hurt them more than it hurt you? Whether it was spanking or sitting in the corner or some other form of discipline/punishment – they may have tried to use that line.

At the time (when you were a child) – it never seemed to be true – I mean – as a child you almost thought they liked metering out discipline/punishment. Could you ever remember tears coming from their eyes? If so – you had a rare parent or it was a rare situation.

As a child – can you remember any other statements your parents might have made that didn’t seem kosher? I mean – did they say things that sounded to you like – do as I say – not as I do? Confusing messages often were delivered – it seems – from some of our parents.

As a parent – there were mixed thoughts in my mind on whether to tell our children there was or wasn’t an Easter Bunny – or Santa Claus – or a Tooth Fairy. I didn’t want them to miss out on some childhood fantasy – but I also didn’t want them to think the stories I told them about Jesus were fairy tales or fantasy as well.

One day I came across a passage that didn’t seem to fit my logic. ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ Let’s take a look at some surrounding passages and look at today’s passage in partial context. Paul was addressing folks as we read – Acts 20:25-35 – 25 “Now I know that none of you among whom I have gone about preaching the kingdom will ever see me again. 26 Therefore, I declare to you today that I am innocent of the blood of any of you. 27 For I have not hesitated to proclaim to you the whole will of God. 28 Keep watch over yourselves and all the flock of which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers. Be shepherds of the church of God, which he bought with his own blood. 29 I know that after I leave, savage wolves will come in among you and will not spare the flock. 30 Even from your own number men will arise and distort the truth in order to draw away disciples after them. 31 So be on your guard! Remember that for three years I never stopped warning each of you night and day with tears. 32 “Now I commit you to God and to the word of his grace, which can build you up and give you an inheritance among all those who are sanctified. 33 I have not coveted anyone’s silver or gold or clothing. 34 You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. 35 In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ 

Christ modeled this giving by coming to earth and dying on the cross. We could never give Him enough to repay Him for what He gave us. What we can do is give to others – as freely as He gave to us. It really can be more blessed to give – when we are giving in response to God’s gift to us.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 4, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

