Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

For the Lord is My Life

Deuteronomy 30:20

that you may love the Lord your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the Lord is your life

profileAs a pastor I have performed many funerals – too many funerals if you ask me. I tried to make a deal one time with members of a church I was serving. I told them I would not perform any more funerals if they agreed to not die. Everyone was for this agreement of course – but we all knew we couldn’t hold to it – as much as we tried.

I have heard a lot of eulogies over the years at the funerals I have led or attended. I have heard a lot of family members and friends stand and try to sum up a person’s life from a few sheets of notes. Sometimes it seems easy. Sometimes it seems hard.

I guess – because I have been to so many funerals I sometimes wonder what people will say when I’m gone. What will my children and close friends say? What would your family and friends say about you? Would they remember some humorous moments in our lives?   Would they remember your favorite moments? Will they remember any of your accomplishments or will they even matter? As a Christian – if you are – will they remember your love for Jesus?

I asked Bible Study members on Tuesday morning if their children or friends or relatives in their lives knew their conversion story? Do others know how important our relationship with Jesus is to us? Do we include God in our conversations? Do we even try to find ways to let others know how important Jesus is to us?

Let’s read today’s passage in partial context. Deuteronomy 30:19–20 – 19 This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live 20 and that you may love the Lord your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to him. For the Lord is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

For the Lord is your life – is that something that could be said about you? Would that phrase be uttered at your funeral? Something like – dad loved the Lord – the Lord was his life. If God is our life – if our relationship with Jesus really has importance to us – we need to let somebody know. We aren’t all called to be street evangelists – but even the most introverted among us should be able to pass on to the next generation how important our walk with Jesus truly is to us.

If you were asked to write your testimony on a piece of cardboard – one side saying where you were and one side saying where God has taken you – what would you say?  Have you ever shared with your children or others you were once lost but now you are found – you were blind but now you see?  You gotta tell somebody that Jesus is the Lord of your life!  Jesus my Lord – is my life!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 9, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

