Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

In the Morning, Lord

Psalm 5:3

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice

profileWhen are you at your best? Not everyone on earth is a morning person. My wife doesn’t like to get up and doesn’t like to be awakened. If there were a time of the day when she was less than perfect – it would be first thing in the morning (but only slightly less than perfect).

I’m not what you would call a morning person either. In my younger days I would have considered myself an evening person. Some of my best work would be after Carolyn and the girls went to sleep. I would get my second wind and churn out a sermon or a paper for school. I might be up till 2 or 3 in the morning and it was nothing for me to sleep until 7 or 8 am. Nowadays I seem to be ready for bed around 9 or 10 pm and seem to be wide-awake – many mornings – by 4 or 5 am. Some mornings I can roll over and catch a few more winks or simply stay in bed thinking.

Whether I go to sleep at 2 or 3 and get up at 7 or 8 or go to bed around 9 or 10 and get up by 4 or 5 – these days I seem to be at my best early in the morning. I am well rested most mornings. I have a full day before me and my agenda is ready to be accomplished. I have my whole day before me and I prepare myself to tackle it!

Let’s read today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 5:1–3 – 1 Listen to my words, Lord, consider my lament. 2 Hear my cry for help, my King and my God, for to you I pray. 3 In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.

Whether my morning has an early tee-time or a drive to the hospital. Whether it has a meeting or Bible Study. Whether it has includes work at home – in the office – at one of my many off site offices (like Panera Bread in Edgewater). The Psalmist suggests to us this morning that we begin the day crying out to God – laying our requests – our praises – our thoughts before Him.

Giving God first place in your day is what this means to me – giving Him your best. If mid-day is your best or evening is your best – you can always pray about the next day in the evening. It is about giving God your best and lifting your prayers before Him. Only a few days left in Lent. How about setting aside 15 minutes each day simply to sit before God and be in prayer – lifting your day and your heart before Him and seeking His face and desiring His grace?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 10, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

