Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A New Thing

Isaiah 43:19

See, I am doing a new thing!

profileSpring is finally here – after a long and cold winter in these parts (look out tonight). Someone tried to say there might be snow Tuesday – but I don’t think so – we’ll see. I’m going to try something new this spring. I’m not going to seed my yard or fertilize it (lots of $$ savings for sure). I may do some patching in places but I am going to let what is there be and see what happens (I didn’t seed in the fall either). I’ll see what the yard can do on its own.  That is a major change for me.

So what new thing are you doing this spring? If we do the same thing – over and over – expecting a different result – they call that insanity. As humans – there is some comfort in sameness – but there is little growing when we do the same thing over and over again.

If you want to build physical muscle you need to stretch your muscles – tax it and even tear it down – allowing it to heal and build up stronger. Doing the same exercise routine over and over will not grow muscle. We will plateau and not grow if we do the same thing over and over.

Spiritually you can say the same thing. We need to rotate and flex our spiritual workouts. For some of us we need to start a daily devotional time. For some of us we need to add some time to our daily devotional time. For some of us we are spending a goodly amount of time but maybe we need to adjust our study – spending more time in prayer or more time in the Bible or more time reading other Christian material for example.

Let’s read today’s passage in partial context. Isaiah 43:18–21 – 18 “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. 19 See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. 20 The wild animals honor me, the jackals and the owls, because I provide water in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland, to give drink to my people, my chosen, 21the people I formed for myself that they may proclaim my praise.

God proclaims that He is doing a new thing in His creation – His world. He challenges the gods of the world to do the same. Isaiah 41:22 – “Tell us, you idols, what is going to happen. Tell us what the former things were, so that we may consider them and know their final outcome. Or declare to us the things to come.”

Our God is an awesome God and as we develop our relationship with Him – we need to be on our toes. We need to be willing to adjust our devotional life so that we might dig deeper into knowing this awesome God – the only true God. So what about you? How will you do a new thing in the weeks to come? I plan on spending more time reading books by other pastors – spending time with God in their writings – in addition to my time in prayer and in the Word. How about you?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 15, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

