Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

As For Me And My Household

Joshua 24:15

But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.

profileAs a pastor – a pastor’s son – a pastor’s grandson – and one who has been in the church for my whole life – I have witnessed a number of families in their home setting. I have also talked to a number of parents during different seasons of their family life. What I have seen is a reluctance of some parents to take a stand on religious issues – even parents who are Christian.

I have friends whose parents made the decision when they would start to drive but wouldn’t decide that they needed to continue to go to youth group at church. Some parents will make a decision for their children about when they can spend the night at a friend’s house or begin to date but won’t decide whether their children will go to church. I have known children as young as 12 or 13 who are allowed to make a decision about going to church or not.

I’m at a loss. Some parents will make earthly decisions about – dating – driving – drinking – but will not make decisions that could have sway over their children’s eternal life. When I was a child – going to church or youth group or Sunday School was not up for debate. It wasn’t just that my father was a pastor – it was that important to him and I believe it would have been that important to him had he not been a pastor. It was important for him – as long as I was under his care – to give me every opportunity to hear about and receive Jesus.

Some of the Israelites must have carried with them some items of religious meaning from false religions. From their days in Egypt – they had false teachings that they clung to it seems. They were talking among themselves – it seems – whether to follow Yahweh or not – or to go back to the gods of their past. Joshua tackled the subject with this famous passage. Joshua 24:15 – But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.

If you are a parent – what will you do when it comes to making decisions in your home for your children? My father would say to us – in love for sure – when you are old enough to make your own rules – you are old enough to find your own roof. Roughly translated – when the rules your mother and I have made for you do not fit – it is time for you to fly the nest and make your own way.

Parents – I know making your children attend church is not the ideal. Yet we make them go to school – we decide so many things for them – because they are not capable to make those decisions for themselves yet. I beg you to keep your children in the church – in youth group – even in Sunday School – while they are under your roof and under your care. If we allow them to stay home – they will not have the same opportunities to hear the Word of God. Just saying – and hope I haven’t offended anyone – but – it needed to be said!  How important is your faith?  How important is it that you do everything you can to give your children an opportunity to receive it?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

May 2, 2014 - Posted by | Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

