Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Have You Ever Felt Alone?

Matthew 18:20

For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.

profileHave you ever felt alone? I know a number of people who can feel alone in a crowded room. I also know people who feel like they are alone – even though they have a great support team around them. I also know people who feel alone because decisions and life circumstances have left them alone. Each of these situations and others can be a scary situation.

Have you ever felt alone? I remember playing hide-and-seek in a cemetery next door to the parsonage as a child and feeling like I wasn’t alone in the dark in the cemetery. Now that is a scary feeling.

Have you ever felt alone? Have you gone through a tough season in your life – or maybe you’re going through it now – and feel all-alone?

As a Christian there have been times I have felt alone. At school – in certain circles – in certain community events – I have felt alone.

As a theological conservative I have felt alone at times. In seminary (not the cemetery – lol) I felt alone at times (I attended a very liberal seminary).

Denominationally I have felt alone on certain subjects. When subjects are discussed and voted on at conference I often end up in the minority (our conference is very liberal).

Have you ever felt alone – in any area of your life? At work? At home? At church?

As Christians – we need to remember that Jesus has promised to always be with us – we will never be alone.

In dealing with church discipline – Jesus reminds us that we will never be alone – that He will always be with us. Even though this was dealing with church discipline – I feel it can be understood that He will always be with us. Matthew 18:19–20 – 19 “Again, truly I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything they ask for, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven. 20 For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.”

Jesus reminded His disciples He would always be with them when He gave them their marching orders. Matthew 28:16–20 – 16 Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Do not allow Satan to take your joy and peace away. God will never leave us nor forsake us. In speaking to His people God tells us – Deuteronomy 31:6 – Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.

Be courageous and know that you/we are not alone. God is always with us!  Have you ever felt alone?  Do not allow Satan that lie in your life.  God is with us!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

May 7, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

