Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Fighting the Good Fight!

2 Timothy 4:7

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

profileWhen I was younger I remember watching Mohammad Ali win a lot of fights. He was – according to him and many others – the greatest. He was not only a great fighter – but he was a great tactician as well. He planned out his fights – he made a plan – and tried to carry it out – and more often than not – he did.

Here are a few of Ali’s greatest fights. Ali vs. Wepner (1975) – was the fight that inspired the movie Rocky. A relative unknown in Chuck Wepner – which went 15 rounds was stuff that legends are made from for sure. Ali vs. Liston II (1965) – one of the shortest championship fights of all time. Within minutes Ali had knocked out Liston. Some say Liston threw the fight. Ali vs. Liston I (1964) – a seven rounder that made Ali (Cassius Clay at the time) a well-known fighter. Ali had some epic fights with Joe Frazier like the ‘Thrilla in Manila’: Ali vs. Frazier III (1975). Probably the most important fight of Ali’s career was the ‘Rumble in the Jungle’: Ali vs. Foreman (1974). Ali’s career is marked with great fights and a great plan. He won the heavy weight championship three times I believe.

Looking back on our lives – what will the road map show? Will it show that we had a plan? Will it show that we fought a good fight – that we ran a good race – they we kept on course and kept the faith?

As we said Sunday – we need a Getting Ready plan in the morning for each day. We need to spend time with God each day – preparing for the day ahead. We need to start each day with a simple prayer like this – Lord – help me love You more today! Reading these verses each morning for the next 6 weeks will help to give us direction in our life.

Psalm 63:1 – You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water. Develop a hunger and thirst for God – a hunger and thirst that no one or nothing else can satisfy.

Psalm 51:1–2, 10-12 – 1 Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. 10 Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. 11 Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. 12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Praying these verses will set our heart and mind on Jesus. Loving Him with all we have and all we are is the type of focus we need – a deep desire to know Jesus and to walk with Him in each day.

Are we fighting the good fight of the faith or are we merely going through the motions?  Are we striving after Jesus with our whole heart?  Are we seeking after His will for our lives – each day?  Do we hunger and thirst after Jesus – after righteousness?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

May 12, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

