Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Wipe Every Tear From Our Eyes

Revelation 21:4

He will wipe every tear from their eyes.

profileI’ve confessed this before on my blog page – I’m a crier. It doesn’t take much for me to shed tears. I was watching Frozen with my granddaughter recently and the tension between the sisters – the loneliness they both experienced – brought tears to my eyes. I wasn’t bawling – like I have for some other shows or events in my life – but tears came to my eyes none-the-less.

I could bore you with a long list of things that make me cry – like I’ll breakdown and cry when I think of my dad who passed 20 months ago – I’ll cry every year when I watch It’s a Wonderful Life with Jimmy Stewart – I’ll cry when a video on Facebook has a touching story.  I’ve been known to cry when a person trying out for one of those singing shows does very well and their story is touching.  I could go on-and-on.  Hi – I’m Ray – I’m a crier!

Today’s passage brings me hope that someday – my tears will end. I am comfortable with my tears most of the time – realizing that I just have a sensitive side – emotions that are raw at times – but the idea of wiping every tear from my eyes is appealing.

Part of the promise of heaven is found in today’s passage. Revelation 21:4 – He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away. I look forward to heaven. I look forward to the pain of life – greater for some than others for sure – being removed and being at peace.

Let’s take a broader look at today’s passage and see it in partial context. Revelation 21:1–8 – 1Then I saw “a new heaven and a new earth,” for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. 2 I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” 5 He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” He said to me: “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life. Those who are victorious will inherit all this, and I will be their God and they will be my children. But the cowardly, the unbelieving, the vile, the murderers, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic arts, the idolaters and all liars—they will be consigned to the fiery lake of burning sulfur. This is the second death.”

I look forward to the day – for the rest of eternity – that there will be no more tears – pain – or mourning for sure. This is the promise for those who love Jesus. Those who love Jesus are those who obey His commands. John 14:15 – If you love me, keep my commands. Seek His face and desire His grace and the peace of God will be with you – now and forever.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

May 15, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

