Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Holiness

As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance. But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.” (1 Peter 1:14-16 NIV)

profilePosting today from my iPad so the format might be a little different. Just wanted to post something – as I attend Annual Conference in Baltimore with the United Methodists of the Baltimore-Washington Conference.

We will discuss and vote on many things this week. Some will have little impact on the life of the church and some may lead to healing or a church split in 2016 or sooner or later.  My prayer is that a split will not happen – that we will seek holiness.

There are questions galore about Scriptural Authority – about the inclusion of all at the table – about sin and acceptance – about the life of the church.

I won’t debate the subjects here – I have done that in the past. Folks who read this blog regularly know where I stand on the issues at hand. What I hope will happen – is a call to holiness. A call to follow Christ and the holy example He set. The love for sinners and yet the call to go and sin no more. The inclusion of those thought marginal by this society – yet the challenge to walk by truth and faith. A call to repentance and to faithfulness. A call to walk in the light – in Christ – John might write – the light of the world.

The church’s future stands not on a single issue of disagreement – but rather upon our willingness to deny self and follow Christ. Are we willing to deny our agenda and seek His face and desire His grace.  Are we willing to deny our feelings and seek His desire for us?

I’m not sure if I will be a United Methodist forever. There may come a time when I might not agree so much with a stance the church takes that I cease to connect with this denomination. My hope is that time will never come – but it might. At that time my faithfulness to Christ will have to lead me and direct me – even as it does now as I identify as a Christian who practices his faith in the United Methodist Church. And as a third generation UMC pastor – that will not be a decision I make lightly – but rather something those who know me know I have wrestled with for over 40 years.

My call today is simply for holiness. Put aside what we want and seek what God wants for us – for our church – for our people.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

May 30, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Nothing new to report from conference… Pray for tonight… 7-9 pm…

    Like

    Comment by raymcdonald | May 30, 2014 | Reply

  2. I retired from the ministry in the United Methodist Church in 2003. My call is STILL to “Seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness…” It became impossible for me to do that with integrity as a UMC pastor, so I retired. I still have a charge to keep, however, and a God to glorify. I continue to pray for the United Methodist Church, and I will be praying for you. God is faithful.

    Like

    Comment by hollyboardman | May 31, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

