Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Preparing a Place

John 14:2

I am going there to prepare a place for you

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgRecently our family had a weekend in West Virginia. It was a family reunion. My wife and I – my brother and his wife – went a day early to clean out the house we stay in for the weekend. The house is used only a few times a year – so preparing a place for the family – is important. Preparing a place for those who will follow us – even coming in late at night and needing a place to lay their head when they arrive. Preparing a place is important.

Have you ever prepared a place for someone? In our home we have some bedrooms – rooms the girls use to use when they were home. When company is coming over we try to make sure clean sheets are on the beds and that the rooms – which often go unused – are prepared for the company. Preparing for company usually means making the place better than regular!

Jesus was preparing to go to be with the Father and He was giving instructions to His disciples – last minute instructions if you would. Here is today’s passage in partial context. John 14:1–7 – 1“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.” Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?” Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. 7 If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

I really like the idea that Jesus has gone to prepare a place for me – for His followers. It also comforts me to know that if He has gone to prepare a place for me He will return to take me to be with Him. My theological understanding is that death is caused by sin – a separation between God and us. Without sin there would be no death – the wages of sin is death – but even with sin and death there is grace and eternal life for Jesus’ followers (Romans 6:23).

If we prepare a place and our visitor doesn’t arrive – the room goes unused – the work is for naught. There is a room prepared for you in heaven – a place for eternity. Will you realize what Jesus said – “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” Come to Jesus today!  Get to know Him and get to know that He has prepared a place for you!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 5, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

