Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

I Desire God

Psalm 73:25

earth has nothing I desire besides you.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgWhat do you desire? For instance – if you were going out to dinner – what would you desire to eat? Are you a meat and potatoes type of person? Would you rather have seafood? Are you a surf and turf kind of person? Do you not eat meat? Would rather have a delicious salad?

What do you desire? For instance – if you were going to go to a ball game this year – would it be football – basketball – hockey – or baseball? Would it be a local team like the Orioles – Ravens – Nationals – Redskins – Caps – Wizards? Are you a professional sport’s fan or college? Are you a fan of Navy – Maryland – Georgetown – Towson – Morgan State – or Bowie State?

What do you desire? For instance – if you had an afternoon off – how would you spend it – playing golf – taking a nap – playing with your children – reading – or spending time with your spouse? What type of music do you listen to these days – oldies – pop – rock – soul – jazz  – gospel – or country?

What do you desire? For instance – of all people – places – or things in your life – who or what do you desire more than any other? If you could go somewhere or meet someone – where or who might it be – a sport’s figure – a movie star – a singer from your favorite group – a politician – someone from the past – some famous place – some historic place – somewhere in the past?

Life is full of desires. We see something or think about something and if we like it – we desire it. Life is filled with fulfilled or unfulfilled desires – even unanswered prayers.

Garth Brooks sang a song titled Unanswered Prayers. Here are the lyrics.

 

Unanswered Prayers

Just the other night, at a hometown football game

My wife and I ran into, my old high school flame

And as I introduced them, the past came back to me

And I couldn’t help but think of, the way things used to be.

She was the one, that I’d wanted for all times

And each night I’d spend prayin’, that God would make her mine

And if he’d only grant me, this wish I wished back then

I’d never ask for anything again.

Sometimes I thank God, for unanswered prayers

Remember when you’re talkin’ to the man upstairs

That just because he doesn’t answer doesn’t mean he don’t care

Some of God’s greatest gifts, are unanswered prayers.

She wasn’t quite the angel, that I remembered in my dreams

And I could tell that time had changed me, in her eyes too it seemed

We tried to talk about the old days, there wasn’t much we could recall

I guess the Lord knows what he’s doin’ after all.

And as she walked away, and I looked at my wife

And then and there I thanked the good Lord, for the gifts in my life.

Sometimes I thank God, for unanswered prayers

Remember when you’re talkin’ to the man upstairs

That just because he may not answer, doesn’t mean he don’t care.

Some of God’s greatest gifts…are unanswered,

Some of God’s greatest gifts…are all too often unanswered…

Some of God’s greatest gifts…are unanswered prayers.

 

So – what do you desire in life? The only answer that will not fit into the song just shared is a relationship with Jesus Christ. The only one that stays the same yesterday – today – and forever – is Jesus. The Psalmist shares today’s passage – Psalm 73:25 – Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you.

Matthew recorded these words of our Lord during what is called the Sermon on the Mount. It is in a section called the Beatitudes. Matthew 5:6 – Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.

We will be blessed if we desire God and God alone. We will be blessed if we hunger and thirst after our relationship with Jesus. We will be fulfilled as we allow the Holy Spirit to direct our desires.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 9, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

