Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

I Desire More!

Ephesians 3:20

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgYesterday I wrote about desiring God.  Today I want to write about desiring more of God!

I use to work at a soda fountain. The place was called Pinks – it was a drug store that had a soda fountain in it and I worked behind the fountain. Yes – that would have made me a Soda Jerk. Wikipedia defines a Soda Jerk this way – a person — typically a youth — who operates the soda fountain in a drugstore, often for the purpose of preparing and serving flavored soda water or an ice cream soda.

As a Soda Jerk – I learned how to make all sorts of sodas and ice cream cones. I learned to make sandwiches – mostly pre-made – all I had to do was heat – but I did make some from scratch. I learned what made customers happy. Usually when it came to ice cream or ice cream sodas – it was more ice cream!

This experience is where my example about the ice cream cone being filled with ice cream and the scoop being packed rather than hollow comes from I use from time to time. I use it when I am describing our faith – and how we should want more – all that God can give us – like a cone packed and the scoop solid – even pouring over the sides!

Ultimately – the additional costs to the shop owner of me giving the customer more was offset – by them coming back more often and buying more.

There is a commercial that currently plays about a man and little children and he is asking – which is better – more or less? Of course the children say – More!

We mostly want more when it comes to the things we like and appreciate. People talk about playing more golf when they retire – not because they don’t like golf – but because they like it and want to play more. People talk about traveling more when they retire because they have more time and love to travel.

Today’s passage is speaking about how God’s people should desire more of God – and how God has so much more than we could ever ask for – and wants to give it to us. It is a prayer from Paul for the Ephesian people – but I believe a prayer for us today as well. Ephesians 3:14–21 – 14 For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. 20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

I want all that God has for me – how about you? I want the immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine – don’t you? Let’s seek His face and desire His grace together!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 10, 2014 - Posted by | Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. If we want Jesus in our lives, then we should want ALL he has to offer, ALL the time.

    Like

    Comment by Steve | June 11, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

