Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Growing Up!

Psalm 103:10

…he does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgGrowing up – everything had to be fair. Whatever I got – my brother had to have one. My mom was so fair with us that she kept a book and recorded everything she bought us for Christmas to make sure things evened out – to the penny.

Growing up – we played a lot of games. One of my favorite memories is playing ball in the backyard with my brother. We played whiffle ball and had rules like – hitting the shed on the fly was an automatic double – over the fence in left field where the neighbor had a mean dog was an out (and you had to retrieve the ball) but over the fence in center – where a nice neighbor lived was a homer. Just like the pros – we had to have the ground rules clear from the start so that it would be fair for all involved – my brother and me!

Growing up – I remember playing for a team where the coach had a son on the team and it irked me that his son got more playing time than me – and of course – I thought the coach was playing favorites. I tried hard to be fair when I coached my children – maybe even a little hard on them at times to make sure I didn’t favor them – because I wanted to be fair.

Growing up – I found out that I wanted anything but fair from God. Fair from God would mean hell – because I cannot pay for my sins – and I am a sinner. Romans 3:23 – for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, Romans 6:23 – For the wages of sin is death. We are all sinners and deserve hell – eternal death – for our sins. But thanks be to God – fair is not the way we are treated.

Growing up – I learned the ending of Romans 6:23 – For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. The ending of that verse brings us hope that God will not treat us fairly – but rather with grace and mercy – because of Jesus Christ. Praise be to God.

Growing up – I loved the Psalmist’s words that we read today – he does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities. (Psalm 103:10)

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 23, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

