Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Search Me Dear Lord!

Psalm 139:23-24

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. 24 See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgThe Psalmist – David – knew what it meant to follow God.  In many of his Psalms he wrote with the knowledge of his trade – that of being a shepherd.  The sheep of the flock follow after the shepherd because the shepherd provides for them – Psalm 23:1 – The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

This Psalm came to mind.  I try to think on it many mornings.  Recently I was looking at Ephesians 2:11-22.  In that section and in the verses before it Paul is trying to share the relationship the Gentile believers have in Christ.  He has spent the first two chapters giving them encouragement in this relationship – teaching them that this relationship is a gift from God for them.  This was amazing news to them – since Jewish leaders for generations had informed them that they were second-class (if that) citizens.  The desired result is a heart of gratitude to Christ that would result in a changed life – a life given over to Jesus.

As Paul continues in Ephesians – he will begin to challenge the believers to holy living – as a response to this free gift given by Christ.  It is in this light that today’s passage comes to mind. It is an awesome prayer we should pray often.  Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Just think how praying this prayer in the morning might impact our day.  What if everyone at First Church or in your local church prayed this prayer each morning?  What if the Body of Christ in every corner of the world would pray this prayer each morning?  How do you imagine it would impact us and other believers and the non-believers in our lives as they saw a changed life in us?

Try praying it just now – that God would search your inner most thoughts and being and show you – show us – where sin lives and lead you/us to overcome it in Christ.  I believe this prayer – prayed with a sincere heart – will result in a deeper walk with Jesus and a more sanctified vessel – where Jesus will be seen more clearly!  After all – isn’t that what we are to strive for in the faith – becoming a vessel where others will see Jesus!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 2, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

