Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Place Your Hope in God

Psalm 3:1 NKJV

Lord, how they have increased who trouble me! Many are they who rise up against me.

20140530-104833-38913743.jpgHave you ever felt surrounded on all sides – by the enemy – or by trouble? I was speaking with a person the other day that felt just this way. They felt like whichever way they turned – they were running into the adversary. Like a student from Southern High School (a local High School my girls attended) visiting the halls of South River or Annapolis High Schools – during a school day – a Bulldawg surrounded by Seahawks or Panthers.

The Psalmist expressed what it was like to be surrounded by trouble and then he wrote about where his hope rested. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 3:1-8 – 1 Lord, how they have increased who trouble me! Many are they who rise up against me. 2 Many are they who say of me, “There is no help for him in God.” 3 But You, O Lord, are a shield for me, My glory and the One who lifts up my head. 4 I cried to the Lord with my voice, And He heard me from His holy hill. 5 I lay down and slept; I awoke, for the Lord sustained me. 6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people Who have set themselves against me all around. 7 Arise, O Lord; Save me, O my God! For You have struck all my enemies on the cheekbone; You have broken the teeth of the ungodly. 8 Salvation belongs to the Lord. Your blessing is upon Your people. NKJV

In what or whom do you place your hope and trust when times are tough or when times are good? Do you turn to God? Do you turn to your faith? Is your faith in Christ? God has promised to help us all in our troubled times – if we turn to Him and seek His face and desire His grace!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 3, 2014 - Posted by | Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

